We no longer have the luxury of Russell Brand

When I was asked to write a post for Love and garbage I said yes because it was me asking me. I chose the subject of Russell Brand because love and garbage is a pointless blog and imagining the overthrow of the current media obsessions is the only way I can be enthused about blogging.

When people talk about Russell Brand within the existing media framework I feel a dull thud in my stomach and my eyes involuntarily glaze. Like when I’m conversing and the subject changes from scones and moves on to another topic. I try to remain engaged but behind my eyes I am adrift in immediate nostalgia; “How happy I was earlier in this chat,” I instantly think.

I have never watched Russell Brand. Like most people I am utterly disenchanted by the modern media. Like most people I regard stand up comedians lecturing us about how we should behave as nothing more than a means of self-promotion suggesting that they have a new book or DVD out, or are perhaps touring and require the vending of tickets to augment their incomes through the filling of stadia. Billy Connolly said: “In the Brownies everybody is your friend” and “In the Brownies they’re all waiting round the bend”  and frankly, I think we can all agree on that one.

I don’t watch Russell Brand because to me it seems like a tacit act of compliance; I know, I know my grandparents fought in two world wars (apart from the one working on the railways or the one in the munitions factories, but hell – you get the point) so that I’d have the right to watch Russell Brand. Well, they were conned. As far as I’m concerned there is nothing to watch Russell Brand for. I feel it is a far more potent cultural act to completely renounce the current paradigm than to participate in even the most trivial and tokenistic manner, by obediently watching him via the medium of a shiny disc placed in a little box to allow viewing on a large flat screen box. Instead, I view again old episodes of the Phil Silvers Show, or marvel at the scripts of Galton and Simpson as I immerse myself in old episodes of Hancock’s Half Hour.

Total revolution of consciousness and our entire social, political and economic system is what interests me, but that’s not helped by watching a man apologise on the behalf of Channel 4 for some actions that have taken place in the Big Brother house, or a video of a man crooning that he wished to apologise for the terrible attacks on an ageing character actor after calling up and leaving a message about his granddaughter. I mean in the context of that sort of action of individual autonomy is utopian revolution possible? The freethinking social architect Duane Doberman said “Aw, gee Sarge”. By ignoring our comic heritage we are inertly ambling towards oblivion, is utopia really an option?

(and so on for pages and pages)

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We no longer have the luxury of Russell Brand

  1. David Jones says:

    Reblogged this on The latest from…… David Jones, and No More Excuses and commented:
    Huzzah! All is not lost….

  2. Well said!! Now let’s worry how Russell Brand’s Revolution Affect Local Planning Regulations? http://wp.me/pwBv3-15H

Leave a Reply

