National Poetry Day 2013

It’s National Poetry Day. This year the theme is “water”. So, as is customary on this blog, let the day be marked with something by Norman MacCaig.

Ringed Plover by a water’s edge

They sprint eight feet and –
stop. Like that. They
sprintayard (like that) and
stop.
They have no acceleration
and no brakes
Top speed’s their only one.

They’re alive – put life
through a burning glass, they’re
its focus – but they share
the world of delicate clockwork.

In spasmodic
Indian file
they parallel the parallel ripples

When they stop
they, suddenly,
are gravel.

The Poems of Norman MacCaig (ed E McCaig) (2005) (p 292)

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to National Poetry Day 2013

  1. Kevin says:

    Very nice, thank you.

    I probably only re-visit poetry once a year when someone says it’s national poetry day but always resolve, like New Year’s resolutions, to make an effort. And never do.

    Poetry, more so than music, can seriously alter my mood, and I kinda like that. The antidote to having become melancholy or even sad is always Spike Milligan and I genuinely laugh out loud (the Children’s treasury is my favourite!). And then you remember Spike’s own challenges and a mind that was sometimes tortured but created so much more than limericks and hilarious nonsense.

    So in the theme of water, here’s a short powerful one from Spike.

    If I could write words
    Like leaves on an autumn forest floor,
    What a bonfire my letters would make.

    If I could speak words of water,
    You would drown when I said
    “I love you.”

Leave a Reply

