Modern culture in microcosm – a sociological survey using the medium of tweets sent by vacuous public figures

  1. Like many people I mainly spend my time on twitter watching celebrities being stupid. To aid me in this laudable objective I have set up a number of twitter lists where I gather celebrity tweets in one useful place. I have a list of Micky Flanagan fans, for example, which comprises a list – primarily of celebrities – who look like they probably like Micky Flanagan.

    My principal list is the list of vacuous public figures which, as the name implies, includes the tweets of public figures who are vacuous. The list comprises the loose droppings of the detritus of modern life, a microcosm of everything that is wrong with today. It is the sort of stuff that a future chronicler will use in his or her history of the decline and fall of celebrity culture. This evening the list was enlivened by three of the principal willy wavers of the modern age, engaging in a heated discussion about who was best.

  2. realDonaldTrump
    How can George Osborne reduce UK debt while spending billions to subsidize Scotland’s garbage wind turbines that are destroying the country?
  3. realDonaldTrump
    You’re all wrong—check the facts! UK is massively subsidizing Scotland’s wind turbines & the people don’t want them.
  4. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump RT Scottish don’t want wind turbines……..I think you have that wrong . The Scottish don’t want you !
  5. realDonaldTrump
    .@Lord_Sugar If you think ugly windmills are good for Scotland you are an even worse businessman than I thought…
  6. realDonaldTrump
    … and, in my opinion, should not be doing The Apprentice.
  7. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump RT: in my opinion you should not be doing the apprentice……..well you have NO SAY in that. The British like me not you
  8. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump the ugly windmills will bring more revenue and green power to Scotland than your golf project
  9. realDonaldTrump
    Sugar: @Lord_Sugar—unlike you, I own The Apprentice. You were never successful enough…
  10. realDonaldTrump
    …. to do The Apprentice but I approved you anyway. Without my show you’d be nothing!
  11. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump you approved me! What a load of rubbish dream on You don’t own apprentice Mark Burnett does. Shut up and argue with Obama
  12. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump success is measured with what you have in business.I own all my real estate with no bank borrowing how about you big shot?
  13. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump you only have 1.9m followers with 350m population in the US does that reflect your popularity?
  14. realDonaldTrump
    Sugar: @Lord_Sugar–Keep working hard so I make plenty of $ with your show…
  15. realDonaldTrump
    …You have little persona, but The Apprentice concept is great and lucky for you!
  16. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump RT: you have little persona …….in England we say the pot calling the kettle black . You have had a charisma bypass
  17. piersmorgan
    Hahaha, LOVE this > RT @realDonaldTrump: Sugar: @Lord_Sugar—unlike you, I own The Apprentice. You were never successful enough…
  18. Lord_Sugar
    @piersmorgan trump owns the apprentice hah hah just like I own Arsenal . Or to put it another way like you are the biggest star on US TV
  19. piersmorgan
    Don’t wish to interfere obviously @realDonaldTrump – but it may be time to fire @Lord_Sugar from YOUR show for his impertinence?
  20. Lord_Sugar
    @piersmorgan @realdonaldtrump RT: time for you to fire him from your show…….let’s see if the big shot can stop me doing the apprentice
  21. realDonaldTrump
    When I made the Apprentice the #1 show in the US, that was a good day for you…
  22. realDonaldTrump
    … and many others. Drop to your knees, Sugar, and say thank you, Mr. Trump.
  23. piersmorgan
    Greatest tweet of all time… hahahahahahahaha > @realDonaldTrump: Drop to your knees, Sugar, and say thank you, Mr. Trump.
  24. realDonaldTrump
    @piersmorgan @Lord_Sugar I easily could but as long as Sugar is making me money (it’s my show) I won’t–unlike Sugar, I’m not stupid!
  25. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump @piersmorgan you are full of sh.. Trump you have no power over the UK apprentice, just like the Scottish people .
  26. realDonaldTrump
    Dopey @Lord_Sugar—Look in the mirror and thank the real Lord that Donald Trump exists. You are nothing!
  27. piersmorgan
    BOOM! > RT @realDonaldTrump: Dopey @Lord_Sugar—Look in the mirror and thank the real Lord that Donald Trump exists. You are nothing!”
  28. Lord_Sugar
    @piersmorgan @realdonaldtrump the only one who drops to his knees is Morgan he kisses ar… I trained him how to win your celeb show
  29. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump donny did u know @piersmorgan called me before he won yr show.I told him how to win by massaging your fat ego. It worked !
  30. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump you only have 1.9 m followers not good for your ego how comes I have 2.5m and you have 6 times more population than UK
  31. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump did I miss your reply if you have bank debt on your real estate . Do any American followers know about Trumps financials ?
  32. piersmorgan
    Exactly! > RT @realDonaldTrump: @Lord_Sugar @piersmorgan Sugar, if you taught Piers Morgan he never would have won!
  33. realDonaldTrump
    Sugar @Lord_Sugar—you should say thank you, Donald, like a good little boy… …
  34. realDonaldTrump
    …instead of biting the hand that feeds you! Don’t bother, just keep making me money!
  35. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump thank you for allowing the UK audience to form a comparison between me and you . YOU LOST ask them who is better at it
  36. Lord_Sugar
    @realDonaldTrump @piersmorgan I might be ignorant as I must have missed your reply if you have bank debt on the real estate they own.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modern culture in microcosm – a sociological survey using the medium of tweets sent by vacuous public figures

  1. Pingback: Blog posts from 2012 | Love and Garbage – some commonplace musings

Leave a Reply

