I am proud to follow in the footsteps of Stalin, Nixon and Reagan

It falls to only a few people to be honoured as a multiple winner of Time Magazine’s person of the year award. Scarce are those that receive the recognition of the likes of a Stalin, a Nixon, or a Reagan, but as of this year I join that happy number.

My first victory in Time person of the year was in 2006 when I was surprised to see that “you” (by which they meant me judging by the distorted reflection in the shiny cover I stared at in the newsagent for literally seconds) were person of the year. I was not conscious of having done anything in particular but wrote them a nice letter thanking them for bottling a hard choice and choosing me – although they could have let me know in advance and I’d have brushed my hair.

I did not consider myself a contender this year to be honest but was pleasantly surprised to see that my hard work protesting against the mispronunciation of the word “scone” by people who should know better (you know who I mean); and my recent strongly worded tweet and e-mail campaign against BBC Scotland who have omitted me from a list of people who write about severe weather in Scotland, while adding local authorities who don’t even bother to live-blog if it is windy or snowy outside has seen me rewarded as “the protester”. Clearly the definite article must mean something, and in vainglorious spirit I have determined that it means me.

I was though concerned by the spelling of this and I have started a protest (with loud sighing and extreme tutting, working up to writing this blog post) against awarding the person of the year prize to “the protester” and am instead calling for it to be awarded to “the protestor”, and trust that this minor act of dissent makes me even more eligible for today’s great honour.

Now that I am in the company of Stalin, Nixon, Gorbachev, FDR, Truman, Churchill, and Reagan I am mindful that my own interest in scones, extreme weather events, and sarcasm about things in the news perhaps looks trivial – but in some small way I think that my being twice awarded person of the year within a few years says something about the decline of society in the twenty first century – although to be frank I can’t be bothered working out what that is.

Anyway, well done me.

I look forward to becoming a three time winner in a few years when Time chooses people with glasses as person of the year in 2016.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

