Apology to readers

To be honest I never expected this level of attention. While my scone-obessed narrative voıce may have been genuine, the facts on thıs blog relating to scones are occasionally fictitious and mısleading as to the issues on the ground, although they tend to be fairly accurate about things which are in ovens a few centimetres of the ground. I do not believe that I have harmed any scones — I feel that I have created an important voice for an issue that I feel strongly about (primarily relating to the pronunciation of the word “scone”).

I only hope that people pay as much attention to the bakers of scones and their struggles in thıs year of rising food prices. Scones are beıng shaped by the bakers and enthusiastic amateurs who grapple with the dough, and these issues, and their constant quest for the perfect scone on a daily basis. I have only tried to illuminate the issue of pronunciation of scone for a non-British audience.

This experience has sadly only confirmed my feelings regarding the often superficial coverage of scones in the media and the pervasiveness of mispronunciation of the word “scone” across all media outlets.

However, I have been deeply touched by the reactions of readers.

Best

L. d’garbage

Scone, Scotland

 

PS The photo of me is a genuine representation. I didn’t steal it from someone offof facebook or twitter or anything like that so whenever anyone appears on Newsnight claiming to be me, they’re wrong unless they actually look like a felt tip drawing.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Apology to readers

  1. *Ahem*. I think you mean “reader”.

  2. Caron says:

    No, there are two of us:-)

  3. Three. But I’m more annoyed that you keep arguing in favour of “scone” than at any misrepresentation.

  4. Four; but I’m only here waiting for the inevitable teacake backlash.

  5. Pingback: An impersonal apology | Love and Garbage – some commonplace musings

Leave a Reply

