Dr John Reid clarifies his role in the appointment of Tony Mowbray as manager of Glasgow Celtic FC

I have received the following statement from Dr John Reid in relation to the appointment of Tony Mowbray as manager of Glasgow Celtic Football Club. I am pleased to reprint the statement in full.

"TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

It has come to my attention that during the close season I appear to have authorised the appointment of Mr Tony Mowbray as manager of Celtic football club. Mr Mowbray was hailed as a visionary manager, whose footballing principles would ensure that Celtic football club would play football in the proper way.

I would like to clarify my own involvement in this appointment. 

During the board meeting appointing the manager I had not in fact cried, "You get me on Mowbray. F*** why will no-one do as I f***ing ask" but had instead said, "You: get Melton Mowbray pork pie." And then in exasperation at the misunderstanding exclaimed "Will no-one do as I F***ing ask".

I now appreciate that appointing a Melton Mowbray pork pie would have been as successful as the appointment of Mr Mowbray, and therefore promptly withdraw my support for him – and remind Celtic fans that I did tell you that Gordon Strachan was doing an excellent job."

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in football eh? bloody hell, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dr John Reid clarifies his role in the appointment of Tony Mowbray as manager of Glasgow Celtic FC

  1. mcgazz says:

    As a Buddie, it’s a little disheartening that, of all the comment that has already been generated about last night’s result, not one Celtic supporter (that I’ve seen) has made any kind of comment on St Mirren’s performance (good or bad). Not even a cursory “well done”. I had to watch highlights online to check we definitely fielded a team.

    • My twitter feed should indicate where my allegiances lie. I have followed ST Mirren (as my league team when my home town team of Annan were in the South of Scotland league) since I was 5 or 6 (decades ago). Last night they were magnificent. (and there is a youtube collection of the goals assuming that the copyright holders haven’s taken it down yet).
      Last night gave me more pleasure than anything in football for years. It nearly made up for the Cup Winners Cup defeat to Mechelen.
      Anyway, the post was intended to parody some of the bizarre Celtic reactions that I saw on-line last night. And Dr reid seems an appropriate vehicle for that.
      Scott

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very good.
    Tony never quite grasped the reality of his job which was to win his next game.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Very good.
    Tony never quite grasped the reality of his job which was to win his next game.

Leave a Reply

