My global joke nightmare

Earlier today I made a joke on twitter.

It read

"All of the world population to be rewarded with Nobel Peace Prize in 2010 because we’re not George W Bush either."

Over the course of the day it seems to have reached escape velocity via twitter. I have seen it on newspaper message boards and webfora. IT has taken on a life of its own, with a variety of people claiming credit.

GIven the disproportionate influence of twitter in the media I fully expect my joke to be formally adopted as an official joke by one of the main political parties in the coming days. Although I warn you to expect cuts to my joke within the short term (perhaps the definite articles will be the first to go), before we can reach the summit of a new appreciation of the joke some time in the parliament after next.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in joke, twitter, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My global joke nightmare

  1. andrewducker says:

    Dammit, my “He got the nobel prize for not being George Bush” was clearly too obvious. Got me a whole bunch of karma on Hacker News though (and more for pointing out Carter got the Nobel for the same reason – and possibly Gore too).

  2. ravensthorpe says:

    Just demonstrates what the weapons inspectors have been telling us all along: it’s the launch platform that counts, not the warhead.

  3. shaz_rte says:

    I have my acceptance speech written.
    And I shall volunteer to be your press spokeswoman now the joke has gone super-nova *g*.

Leave a Reply

