Surely there must be a way to beat the X Factor single to Christmas number 1

Why can’t the people of Britain stop the tyranny of The X Factor by getting behind the songs of a real British icon?

The first time I heard what follows I wasn’t sure if this was a deliberate act of comic genius.  I know now that it was.

So here it is Dean Park’s tribute to wee Andy Webber

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in dean park, Uncategorized, wee andy webber. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Surely there must be a way to beat the X Factor single to Christmas number 1

  1. tanngrisnir says:

    I’d still back Buckley’s Hallelujah, but I remember that Dean Park thing well. I laughed till I could hardly breathe. That chipper delivery of Don’t cry for me, Argentina! — magic.

    • I found it hysterically funny the first time I saw him perform it – and then thought was he serious or did he mean to be funny? It’s apparent that it’s the latter. And for me the whole “I don’t know how to love him” sequence with “I’ve had so many men before in oh so many ways” chanted while he was marching up and down like a drum major was the highlight.
      Scott

      • tanngrisnir says:

        Oh, gods, yes. I remember the first time I saw it there was a gap of about five seconds before what he was doing actually hit us and then we just couldn’t stop laughing.

  2. hoiho says:

    Gobsmacking.Truly.

    • IT loses a lot when you don’t see the portly frame of Mr Park – done up in HIghland dress, as he marches back and forth and adopts Andy Stewart mannerisms to encourage the participation of the audience. With this, surely the British people could get the Christmas number one they deserve 😉

  3. Anonymous says:

    I think it’s fair to say I will now regard the work of Messrs. Lloyd Webber and Park in a completely new light.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I think my comment should remain deliberately ambiguous!
    I have been told that the definition of a gentleman is someone who can play all of Andy Webber’s works on the moothie, but doesn’t!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Here’s an idea ..
    Yeah I’m fed up with X Factor getting to number 1.
    If we ALL get behing the SAME single for Christmas 2009 then I’m sure we’ll knock X Factor off the top spot.
    I know it’s early days but we need to get the ball rolling now! Please support http://www.thecfactor.co.uk and we’ll do it!

Leave a Reply

