For your consideration

My loyal reader often e-mails me to say, "Who the hell are you and what do you sound like?"

Well, thanks to the wonder of international podcasting my shroud of anonymity slips as I was privileged to contribute to the rather excellent UK DVD review review of the year hosted by William Gallagher.  I’ve listened to William’s reviews for the past few years – having previously read him regularly on the pages of Ceefax – and given that he’s a man that likes the wonderful Sports Night and has a bit of a thing for the great Alan Plater ‘s Beiderbecke trilogy (and if you’ve not got Plater’s memoir Doggin Around yet – you should, it’s great) you know that he’s got decent taste, and throughout the year he’ll often flag up the quirky or the fabulous that might have slipped off the radar.  Every year he does a review of the year – his choice one podcast and then the choice of his listeners the next – and this year (for the first time, having omitted to nominate Billy the Kid and the Green Baize VAmpire, still the best neo-Brechtian gangster musical about snooker the other year) I voted.  I apologise for the heavy cold influencing my voice, and the incoherence caused by the deadening effect of increasingly powerful painkillers – but aside from the obvious attraction of finally hearing what I sound like (when I’m feeling a bit rough) – and assuming that you’ll find me dull, there’s plenty to love in the show – a veritable smorgasbord of Christmas gift purchase ideas on the DVD front.

Oh, and while I’m here – fans of classy crime drama might care to investigate the Inspector Montalbano stories on BBC4 tomorrow and Monday.  Based on the novels of Andrea Camilleri – if they’re half as good as the source material they should be very good indeed.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in dvd, television, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

