Peter Sellers

For Alastair

A fleeting glimpse of some Beatles bookending perhaps the finest interpretation of their work

 

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in peter sellers, richard iii, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peter Sellers

  1. Anonymous says:

    beatles for sellers
    Scott
    Thanks very much for this.
    It is tremendous stuff from Sellers – I remember seeing this when it was first broadcast – and it was by no means the comedy maestro/veteran Goon taking the piss out of teenybop pop stars – Sellers instantly recognised the Beatles as major artistes and he remained friends with them for the rest of his life. There is a famous bootleg album consisting of alternative versions that Ringo gifted to Sellers round about the White Album time – inspired by this I’m going to post about it on my blog
    Merci
    Alastair

    • Re: beatles for sellers
      There are a few more on youtube – including some 7″ recordings with stills, including Sellers doing Help as (I think) Harold Macmillan.
      Sellers was a big figure in my childhood. The Beeb used to show Boulting brothers films and the like on Sundays (before the endless diet of soap operas) and I’m All Right Jack, Heavens Above, Two Way Stretch and The Mouse that Roared were all family favourites.
      I heard Sellers version of this before I saw Olivier’s Richard III – coming across it today my admiration for it increased immeasurably.

Leave a Reply

