Pedantry: Look, it’s Steven Moffat – that’s his name, S T E V E N M O F F A T

It has come to my attention from various posts on t’internet that Russell “Television” Davies is stepping down as head honcho of Doctor Who.  Indeed I have posted on this topic earlier this evening.  However, I am not sure who is taking over:

Is it Stephen Moffat (here, here, here, here, here, here, here, &c)?

Or is it Steven Moffatt (here, here, here, here, here &c)?

Or is it Stephen Moffatt (here, here, here, here, here, here &c)?

Or is it – as the man himself prefers – Steven Moffat?

Could fandom possibly agree on which mis-spelling of the man’s name we prefer, as I’d hate to be out of the loop on this one?

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in doctor who, pedantry, spelling, steven moffat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pedantry: Look, it’s Steven Moffat – that’s his name, S T E V E N M O F F A T

  1. pickwick says:

    Dammit! I should know how to spell his name.
    I blame Stephen Fry for giving me the idea that all Excellent Stephens are PHs.

    • matgb says:

      I have a simple method for most names. ctrl+c. Works most of the time.
      (however when I recently went through and sorted my tag cloud, I did find two entries under sharles stross, doubt would’ve minded but still…)

  2. davidbrider says:

    I just call him “La Moff”. It’s easier that way… Although I know it’s Steven with a V, but I suspect I’ve sometimes erred on the side of Moffatt with two Ts. I count that as a minor indiscretion. *g*

  3. gominokouhai says:

    I had enough trouble with Ru{s,ss}e{l,ll} T Davies. I still occasionally have problems with Peter Davi{d,}son.
    And he is, and always will be, The Moff.

  4. peeeeeeet says:

    I thought I’d just about got the hang of it until Georgia Moffett came along and put the cat amongst the spelling pigeons.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the clarification; I will correct my blog post 🙂
    ~Chris
    (The Book Swede)

Leave a Reply

