I’ve made it

I am obviously more famous than I thought.  I received an e-mail today headed “Your selection into Who’s Who” from a sender called “WHo’s Who Publishing”.

So, why does Who’s Who want me?

Their e-mail may explain

“Dear [my work e-mail address]

You were recently appointed as a biographical candidate to represent your industry in the Who’s Who Among Executives and Professionals, and for inclusion into the upcoming 2008-2009 “Honors Edition” of the registry.

We are pleased to inform you that on April 27th, your candidacy was approved. Your confirmation for inclusion will be effective within five business days, pending our receipt of the enclosed application.

The Office of the Managing Director appoints individuals based on a candidate’s current position, and usually with information obtained from researched executive and professional listings. The director thinks you may make an interesting biographical subject, as individual achievement is what Who’s Who is all
about. Upon final confirmation you will be listed among thousands of accomplished individuals in the Who’s Who Registry. There is no cost to be included.

We do require additional information to complete the selection process and kindly ask that you access this form on our website at:

[deleted]

Sincerely,

Matthew Johnson
Managing Director”

Now, I’m obviously worthy of a place in Who’s Who.  I was twice on Border Television, and have published articles on pigeon racing and a number of other subjects.  I’ve even been quoted on the internet by someone I’ve never met.  But, this doesn’t sound like Who’s Who.

Oh, there’s a disclaimer at the foot of the e-mail 

“Madison Who’s Who is not associated or affiliated with Marquis Who’s Who or any other Who’s Who.
30-01 Northern Blvd. Long Island City, NY 11101″

Ah, so it’s not THAT Who’s Who.

Anyway, it doesn’t cost anything, so what is the enclosed application?  Well it’s a web form where they want my full name, address, &c.  

And there is no cost.  You’ll have seen that bit.

So, why when you check through the FAQs on the relevant business website you see that you have to purchase a membership and they provide wall plaques.  Additionally, the nomination process (that led to me, from all the world being chosen) remains shrouded in mystery.

If it looks like phish and smells liks phish, is it phish?

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ve made it

  1. camies says:

    Funny one that. I’ve had a ‘link exchange request’ for a link to my website (I don’t actually have a website) which must be a scam but how?

    • alfaguru says:

      It’s just spam. They send millions out and they get some links back in return (which help their Google position).
      As long as some people they email have a site then it’s worth it.

  2. alfaguru says:

    Not phishing, just a good old-fashioned scam. Once they hook you they try to sell you expensive junk.
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/187/ripoff0187077.htm

  3. pigeonhed says:

    ‘twice on Border television’? Once is excusable, twice is just sheer carelessness.
    Unless you got to meet the delectable Gilly Fraser?

    • My friend was interviewed by Eric “Border TV” Wallace sitting on the grass outside the school. She was fragrant and delightful. Wallace apparently charm personified.
      I was interviewed by Ross Kelly – a very short self-made man who worshipped his own creator.

  4. shaz_rte says:

    Ah, sounds like the same email as I had to my work address. I understand it definitely does have a fishy niff to it, and that they recoup the dosh by trying to sell you loads of very expensive copies of the book.
    I’ve been a talking head on Radio Gloucestershire three times in the last few months. Does that count as meeja punditry? ;o)

Leave a Reply

