Memery

Tagged by

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your LJ along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.

I’m not a great music-bod and am currently heavily engaged in the most tedious activity of my year (marking many many papers of students of varying degrees of ability – ever mindful of the thought that this person may be dangerous if allowed near the general public, be more severe 😉 )

The 7 pieces of music I’m really enjoying at the moment are:

Henry Mancini’s score for Touch of Evil – Orson Welles as an obese racist cop, Charlton Heston as a Mexican policeman, and Janet Leigh.  What more could you want from a film?  Marlene Dietrich?  well she’s in it too.  And it has one of the great film scores.  I popped this on following Heston’s death and the score by Mancini is one of his best – particularly the title music, which has kept creeping into my mind as yet another script detonates in front of me.

Bach, Goldberg Variations – marking music.  I listen to the Gould versions, Jarrett’s recording on the harpsichord, even the almost dull Turacek recording.  Blissful.

The Beatles, Octopus’s Garden – in the car with my children they demand The Beatles as my wife and I have put together a little compilation of Beatles tracks on our MP3 player.  Their favourites are this, then

The Beatles, For the benefit of Mr Kite 

Keith Jarrett’s European Quartet – The Wind up (from the Belonging album).  Mr J can be a grumpy sod.  This is joyous, and witty.  I listen to it often.

A few weeks ago BBC4 broadcast a documentary about Al Bowlly, 30s singing star.  Bowlly was something of an obsession for Dennis Potter, who wrote a play about a Bowlly obsessive (moonlight on the highway I think) and Bowlly is a pivotal off-screen figure in Pennies from Heaven.  I bought the soundtrack for Pennies following repeats in the late 80s, replacing my worn out tapes with the CDs 15 years ago.  Following the documentary I picked out the CDs and a couple of songs have found themselves played a few times: 

AL Bowlly singing My Woman with Lew Stone and the Monseigneur Band 

and Dorothy Carless singing Oh you Nasty Man with the Ray Noble orchestra (a very jaunty introduction followed by Ms Carless – sizzling).

For tagging – people that I am curious to find out the musical tastes of:

,

,

,

,

,

, and

(And beyond LJ how about Alastair and Big Rab at the Ben Lomond Free Press given the eclectic interests of each)

PS This is my 999th post here.  Tomorrow, I’ll have been resident at LJ for 2 years and hope to make my 1000th post.  Thanks to all who read and to those who comment.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in meme, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memery

  1. Anonymous says:

    Right now
    (1) Little Roy and Friends – Revolution – a fantastic slice of early seventies roots reggae – hear it streaming at
    http://mog.com/soulrocket/blog_post/127975#comments
    (2)Humphrey Lyttleton – Bad Penny Blues – listening to this to commemorate Humph’s death last week – hear it here
    http://mog.com/almax/blog_post/158771
    (3) Frank Zappa – Absolutely Free
    (4) Charles Mingus – Fables of Faubus
    (5) Lambchop – The New Cobweb Summer
    (6) The Incredible String Band – The Hangman’s Beautiful Daughter
    (7) U Roy – Natty Rebel – hear it streaming here – http://mog.com/almax/blog_post/154360
    It’ll all change tomorrow, of course

    • A few years ago I went to her Humph and band at the Edinburgh Jazz festival. As a longtime fan of ISIHAC (and ECM jazz – the austere Nordic kind) I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was blown away. An easy rapport with the audience, and real skill on the trumpet.
      Does Bad Penny Blues feature Joe Temperley? I know he was in Humph’s band before he went to the US (and ended up with Wynton MArsalis and the Lincoln Center (sic) Jazz Orchestra).
      Scott

  2. Anonymous says:

    I shall respond of course Scott (tonight after some thought). Interestingly I front a blues band (harmonica and vocals) and we must be the only band of such a genre to play Henri Mancini. We do “A Shot In The Dark” which is the theme used in the inspector cartoons which supported the pink panther. He wrote some incredible tunes and his arrangements were awesome.

    • Mancini is my favourite film composer. When I hear certain radio station really pushing John Williams I wonder i they realise the mastery of his work. A shot in the dark is my favourite Clousea film, not least for the music.
      Cheers
      Scott

  3. worldofagwu says:

    – gongrats on yr 2 years & 1000th post – i always enjoy yr LJ ( – esp. when i learn new stuff abt telly like the dennis potter al bowlly gonnection ) – but typically, i rarely get round to gommenting…

    • Cheers,
      I similarly enjoy your posts – always entertaining. Have you been watching the Baron? If not, try to catch up via the ITv website – the late great Mike Read, a religious village in rural Scotland, and Malcolm McLaren: TV gold!
      Scott

  4. Anonymous says:

    1) Step Right Up – Tom Waits
    2) Family Life – The Blue Nile
    3) Way To Blue – Nick Drake
    4) Help Me – Sonny Boy Williamson
    5) Bring ‘Em All In – Mike Scott (Waterboys)
    6) Solid Air – John Martyn
    7) = I’ll Take Care of You – Van Morrison
    Volcano – Damien Rice
    Slippery People -Talking Heads
    I’m a mug for singer/songwriters! (Although the Van one is a Ray Charles song)
    My top 7 would probably change quite a bit but my top 100 not all that much from month to month. The top 100 contains much Rolling Stones, Alex Harvey, and everything from the Clash to Gerry Rafferty.

  5. hoiho says:

    Your morbid cusiosity may be satisfied here. Although it barely begins to outline the wilder boundaries of my peculiar musical tastes.

Leave a Reply

