THat’s entertainment

Well done ITV1.  Since the late lamented passing of Fox TV’s Man V Beast, a show broadcast on ITV2 and still haunting my dreams, I have been disappointed by the quality of entertainment on our commercial channel.  I should not have doubted.  This evening saw a masterclass in entertainment – Vernon Kay presenting a police officer and boxing champion Amir Khan hammering nails into a lengthy piece of wood.  I sat enthralled as nail after nail buckled under the sustained hammering from the fast hands of Bolton’s finest.

Thanks to Mr Grade and all involved.  Just when I feel the bottom of the barrel has been reached you manage to pull up a few shards of wood and find a further level beneath.

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in television, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THat’s entertainment

  1. They used to say “it’s not over until the fat lady sings”, but these days it’s more likely to be “it’s not over until Rebecca Loos pulls off some livestock”…

  2. robsoft says:

    But it got worse than that, didn’t it? I mean – making both men dangle by their hands from a parallel bar, to see who could hold on the longest. We had channel-hopped into it while eating our dinner and then remained watching, gripped at possibly the finest bit of car-crash telly I’ve seen in months.
    The thing is, car-crash telly only really works when the joke isn’t on the viewer.
    I feel sorry for Vernon Kay. I’m sure he’s a talented and interesting enough guy, but everything I’ve ever seen him ‘do’ has been complete and utter shite of the very lowest order.

    • By that time I’d left.
      The last I saw of them was watching them both climb a pole and stand at the top of it.
      If I’d known that parallel bar dangling was involved I might have persevered 😉
      Scott
      PS if you are unaware of Man v Beast a search of youtube and man vs beast , then elephant vs little people gives you a fair idea of the delights of the show.

Leave a Reply

