Quatermass on ITV4

Heads up for NIgle Kneale fans –

The Quatermass Conclusion (with John Mills) is being repeated on ITV4 next week from Monday evening. 

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in nigle kneale, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quatermass on ITV4

  1. bagrec says:

    Huge Nigel Kneale fan here! Thanks for the tip-off.
    Have you watched “Beasts” since it came out on DVD?
    “Baby” is still utterly terrifying…

  2. I haven’t seen it for years – and BUM! – I’m out of the country 😦
    Huffity, puffity, Ringstone Round…

  3. brooschlee says:

    My first exposure to Neale was (after hearing the name for years) finding a copy of ‘QUATERMASS’ on VHS aged 11 or 12 in a video store in Great Yarmouth for £3. I rushed it home to find that far from the black and white ‘classic’ ‘Mass serials, it was parts 1 & 2 of ‘Conclusion’, I remember feeling so disenfranchised that the story was incomplete (as well as it being quite full-on in it’s dystopia) that I didn’t bother with Kneale until I watched the live broadcast of ‘Experiment’ on BBC4. I’m tempted to call the Mater and see if she can tape it for me, not having a TV – are the final two parts any good?
    Oooh, apropos of NK, did you read Lawrence Miles’ latest ‘iconoclasm’ relating to how he was nothing more than a git terrified of the future? It’s on his other blog if you’ve not.

    • Read the Miles (and it’s still on his site unlike the entertaining Torchwood review, I note). Always interesting even when I disagree wit him.
      It must be remembered Kneale was happily married to Judith “Mog” and “the Tiger who came to tea” Kerr for many years.
      I’ve not seen the final story at all – the first exposure to Kneale I had being a repeat of Q and the PIt when I was at secondary school . I have now set my PVR for the series (Monday to Thursday next week around 8 pm). Worth remembering that ITV4 is available on-line via the ITV website.
      Scott

Leave a Reply

