Watch out, Beadle’s not about

From next Monday’s news

The funeral of TV presenter Jeremy Beadle who died  last week was disrupted by a series of unfortunate events.  The hearse driving Beadle’s coffin to the church was stopped at a set of roadworks and received a parking ticket from a traffic warden with a large beard and a clipboard.  Then, following the arrival of the hearse at the church the pallbearers unfortunately dropped the coffin on the way in.  After a couple of attempts to pick up the coffin, during which the handles fell off,  the pallbearers managed to lift the coffin onto the back of one of their number who managed to take it into the church.  The untimely appearance of a local council officer investigating the presence of asbestos in the church disrupted the service – and forced the service to be relocated to a nearby hall.  

The coffin when being lowered in to the grave dropped the six feet opening the lid, when one of the ropes on whcih it was being lowered mysteriously snapped.

A spokesman for the family said, “It’s what he would have wanted.”

ETA acknowldegement to Mr

 who beat me to a variant of the headline by a good hour in a locked post .

ETA – that’s what I’m after

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in jeremy beadle, obituary, television, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Watch out, Beadle’s not about

  1. peeeeeeet says:

    When I saw the headline, I immediately started looking forward to this post! πŸ˜‰

    • Sadly the content couldn’t live up to the headline πŸ˜‰
      See also dizzy at http://dizzythinks.net/2008/01/watch-out-bealdes-dead.html who says
      “Oh what a cynic I have become but when I heard this I just thought “yeah right, he’s hiding somewhere, has shaved the beard off, got a new hand, and will jump out all of sudden and point and and laugh at all the hacks reporting his death and shout ‘Game for Laugh!'”.”
      which is almost exactly what I said to my wife

  2. I was going to say the same thing (about the LBC phone in). In fact I think I will.

Leave a Reply

