Man Booker International Prize – the nominees

The ManBooker International Prize nominees have been announced.

Chinua Achebe
Margaret Atwood
John Banville
Peter Carey
Don DeLillo
Carlos Fuentes
Doris Lessing
Ian McEwan
Harry Mulisch
Alice Munro
Michael Ondaatje
Amos Oz
Philip Roth
Salman Rushdie
Michel Tournier

The last longlist of nominees included Saul Bellow, Muriel Spark, Naguib Mahfouz, and Stanislaw Lem, all of whom are no longer with us, so which of the nominees’ relatives will be checking the life assurane policies?

Missing from this list – while nominated last time are Nobel laureates Marquez, Oe, and Grass, and perpetual contenders Kundera and Updike.

Those nominated on both occasions are Atwood, Lessing, McEwan, and Roth.

The judging panel this year is chaired by Professor Elaine Showalter and includes Nadine Gordimer (which perhaps explains the lack of nomination for Coetzee) and Colm Tóibín (which may explain the presence of Banville).

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s