How do you pronounce “scone”? A definitive poll

Happy new year.

My regular reader will not be surprised to know that the vast majority of the searches to reach my blog relate to the pronunciation of the word “scone”. My regular reader will know this because clearly it is what my regular reader is searching for. Fortuitously this very question of pronunciation is a topic on which I have blogged previously. However, I have never had the capacity to obtain a definitive sample of views from you, my dear reader. In this Olympic year it seems an ideal time to provide a definitive answer and accordingly I have embedded a poll on the topic below.

As most people know there are three principal pronunciations of “scone”. There are those who say “scone”; those who say “scone”; and those who say “Scone”. Some people in addition say “scone” – but as this is such a trivial minority I have decided not to collate figures on these individuals. And while there is a minority who say “Scone” – the implications for the general health and well-being of those individuals is such that it is crucial that figures are collated.

Statistics indicate that generally within the UK 2/3 of people say “scone” while 1/3 say “scone”; and that figure rises to 99% of people saying “scone” with a trivial 1% saying “scone” in Scotland. It is believed that pronunciation is influenced by geography and class. Once I have clear figures on the pronunciation of “scone”, “scone” or “Scone” I will ask some follow up polls on geography and socio-economic group, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

So, onward dear reader, and complete this scientifically rigorous study of “scone” pronunciation. For armed with accurate figures the oral abominations of CBeebies hosts, bakery show contestants, and people who just say it differently to the way you do may never be defeated.

 

About loveandgarbage

I watch the telly and read when not doing law stuff and plugging my decade and a half old unwatched Edinburgh fringe show.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you pronounce “scone”? A definitive poll

  1. I’m not sure I’ve ever met anybody who says Scone. That really is a worrying choice.

  2. bigrab says:

    I say scone (rhymes with gone and overdrawn)
    English folk say scone (rhymes with loan and eurozone)
    For Scone – see Buffoon, balloon and Geoff Hoon

Leave a Reply

